September 03 – HEXX stream new song, new album out in September.

(band photo by Glenn Herring)

The Bay Area thrash legends HEXX released video for “Vultures Gather Round” – new song taken from the forthcoming studio album, “Entangled In Sin”.

The album will be released on September 25th on High Roller Records, and will be available as a vinyl LP, CD and digital download.

“The new album was recorded at the Sonic Room Studios in Livermore California and was engineered by Tim Narducci and produced by Bart Gabriel” says HEXX guitarist and founder, Dan Watson. “We put a lot more time and thought into pre-production with this album than we did for the “Wrath Of The Reaper” record. Bart Gabriel was key in helping us during the pre-production process. I would send him demos of potential new songs and he would check them over and advise us on everything from tempo to lyrical content and everything in between. He was a valuable asset to this recording and I will always be grateful to him and the folks at High Roller Records for their support.” he adds.

Stylistically the new album is closer to HEXX’s power metal roots than to the band’s brutal thrash/death metal period. “Yes, that was our intent from the beginning”, confirms Watson. “We love that classic ’80s US Power Metal sound. It is the nearest to our hearts (…) There are some frantic thrashy elements to the new album but I would call this a classic US Power Metal record. I would say the opening track ‘Watching Me Burn’ is a fair cross-cut example of the material on this new album. Although each song is different and has its special place on the record contributing to the overall body of work”.

The San Francisco Bay Area based Power/Thrash Metal band HEXX was formed in 1983, and released its debut album, “No Escape” in 1984 on Shrapnel Records. Since then the group went through several lineup changes and musical style variations. The group’s second effort, “Under The Spell”, was released in 1986 once again on the Shrapnel label, and with European distribution support from Roadrunner Records. England’s Music For Nations label signed the band and released the “Quest For Sanity” EP in Europe in 1988.

In 1990 HEXX released a single on Wild Rags Records called “Watery Graves”, which included two Speed/Thrash bonus track versions of “Under The Spell” and “Edge Of Death” from their 1986 “Under The Spell” album. In 2016 first two HEXX albums were reissued by Metal Blade Records and two years later Vic Records reissued “Quest For Sanity” and “Watery Graves”. The last HEXX studio album entitled “Wrath of The Reaper” came out in 2017 on High Roller Records. 

More information:
Follow the band: